• last version of mystic for os/2

    From robert wolfe@1:116/18 to All on Mon Jun 26 22:03:00 2017
    was it 1.05 or 1.07?

    also, looks like when I run Mystic/OS2 in standalone mode and connect to it
    via telnet, it disconnects at the prompt for username and then resets back
    to the wfc screen.

    and yes, i know nothing can be done about these now...

    --- Mystic BBS v1.05/OS2
    * Origin: Neptune's Lair/2 * Olive Branch MS * os2bbs.org (1:116/18)
  • From g00r00@1:129/215 to robert wolfe on Tue Jun 27 10:53:46 2017
    --- Mystic BBS v1.05/OS2

    Wow thats from like 1998! Be careful that is super old from back when Mystic was a baby.

    --- Mystic BBS v1.12 A35 (Windows/32)
    * Origin: Sector 7 [Mystic BBS WHQ] (1:129/215)
  • From robert wolfe@1:116/18 to g00r00 on Thu Jul 13 19:40:00 2017
    On 06-85-39, g00r00 said...

    --- Mystic BBS v1.05/OS2

    Wow thats from like 1998! Be careful that is super old from back when Mys was a baby.

    Yeah, but it's the latest version for OS/2 that I could find :) It will
    pick up with VMODEM, but then disconnect when the user is prompted for the username.

    --- Mystic BBS v1.05/OS2
    * Origin: Neptune's Lair/2 * Olive Branch MS * os2bbs.org (1:116/18)
  • From robert wolfe@1:116/18 to g00r00 on Thu Jul 13 19:40:00 2017
    On 06-85-39, g00r00 said...

    --- Mystic BBS v1.05/OS2

    Wow thats from like 1998! Be careful that is super old from back when Mys was a baby.

    Yeah, but it's the latest version for OS/2 that I could find :) It will
    pick up with VMODEM, but then disconnect when the user is prompted for the username.

    --- Mystic BBS v1.05/OS2
    * Origin: Neptune's Lair/2 * Olive Branch MS * os2bbs.org (1:116/18)
  • From Dave Vandermeer@1:229/275 to robert wolfe on Wed Jul 26 14:04:30 2017
    On 07/13/17, robert wolfe said the following...

    --- Mystic BBS v1.05/OS2

    Yeah, but it's the latest version for OS/2 that I could find :) It will pick up with VMODEM, but then disconnect when the user is prompted for
    the username.


    If you want the last OS/2 version what you need to do is install 1.07/DOS
    then upgrade the DOS version to 1.0.7.2, then there is an OS/2 release of 1.0.7.3 on the filegate.net web. I have this setup running on eComstation on real hardware and that's what I had to do, otherwise I was back in the stone age on 1.05 as you are

    --- Mystic BBS v1.12 A31 (Raspberry Pi)
    * Origin: internal dimension ≈ idbbs.dlinkddns.com ≈ port 59 (1:229/275)
  • From Robert Wolfe@1:116/17 to Dave Vandermeer on Wed Jul 26 21:38:20 2017
    If you want the last OS/2 version what you need to do is install
    1.07/DOS then upgrade the DOS version to 1.0.7.2, then there is an
    OS/2 release of 1.0.7.3 on the filegate.net web. I have this setup
    running on eComstation on real hardware and that's what I had to do, otherwise I was back in the stone age on 1.05 as you are

    Ok, I will see about doing that if I decide to go that route on the OS/2
    BBS. Thanks for the pointer.

    --- Platinum Xpress/Win/WINServer v3.0pr5
    * Origin: Neptune's Lair - Olive Branch MS - winserver.org (1:116/17)
  • From Dave Vandermeer@1:229/275 to Robert Wolfe on Sat Jul 29 18:45:49 2017
    On 07/26/17, Robert Wolfe said the following...

    Ok, I will see about doing that if I decide to go that route on the OS/2 BBS. Thanks for the pointer.

    If you are having difficulty finding what you need let me know and I'll post the links to the 3 seperate ZIP files I downloaded to get the last OS/2
    version running

    --- Mystic BBS v1.12 A31 (Raspberry Pi)
    * Origin: internal dimension ≈ idbbs.dlinkddns.com ≈ port 59 (1:229/275)
  • From Robert Wolfe@1:116/18 to Dave Vandermeer on Mon Jul 31 04:22:00 2017
    * In a message originally to Robert Wolfe, Dave Vandermeer said:

    130/20
    229/275 426
    266/404
    320/119
    2320/0 1
    On 07/26/17, Robert Wolfe said the following...

    Ok, I will see about doing that if I decide to go that route on the
    OS/2
    BBS. Thanks for the pointer.

    If you are having difficulty finding what you need let me know and I'll post
    the links to the 3 seperate ZIP files I downloaded to get the last OS/2 version running

    --- Mystic BBS v1.12 A31 (Raspberry Pi)
    * Origin: internal dimension ≈ idbbs.dlinkddns.com ≈ port 59 (1:229/275)

    ok, this would be awesome. :)

    --- EleBBS/OS2 v20120208.d
    * Origin: Neptune's Lair/2 * Olive Branch, MS USA * os2bbs.org (1:116/18)
  • From Dave Vandermeer@1:229/275 to Robert Wolfe on Mon Jul 31 10:37:14 2017
    On 07/31/17, Robert Wolfe said the following...


    ok, this would be awesome. :)


    Mystic 1.07/DOS - http://www.filegate.net/mysticbbs/mystic/mysd_107.zip
    Mystic 1.07.2/DOS - http://www.filegate.net/mysticbbs/mystic/mupd1072.zip Mystic 1.07.3/OS2 - http://www.filegate.net/mysticbbs/mystic/mupo1073.zip

    Install 1.07/DOS first, upgrade to 1.07.2/DOS then use the 1.07.3 OS/2
    version and bob's your uncle. Keep in mind that there is no internal support for Telnet/BinkD so you still need to use SIO2K/VModem and your favorite OS/2 FTN tosser

    BinkD OS/2 - http://www.filegate.net/aftnbinkd/binkda73.zip

    ---
    Enjoy - Dave

    --- Mystic BBS v1.12 A31 (Raspberry Pi)
    * Origin: internal dimension ≈ idbbs.dlinkddns.com ≈ port 59 (1:229/275)
  • From Robert Wolfe@1:116/18 to Dave Vandermeer on Mon Jul 31 17:41:00 2017
    * In a message originally to Robert Wolfe, Dave Vandermeer said:

    130/20
    426 452
    267/155
    100 102
    On 07/31/17, Robert Wolfe said the following...


    ok, this would be awesome. :)


    Mystic 1.07/DOS - http://www.filegate.net/mysticbbs/mystic/mysd_107.zip Mystic 1.07.2/DOS - http://www.filegate.net/mysticbbs/mystic/mupd1072.zip Mystic 1.07.3/OS2 - http://www.filegate.net/mysticbbs/mystic/mupo1073.zip

    Install 1.07/DOS first, upgrade to 1.07.2/DOS then use the 1.07.3 OS/2 version and bob's your uncle. Keep in mind that there is no internal support
    for Telnet/BinkD so you still need to use SIO2K/VModem and your favorite OS/2
    FTN tosser

    BinkD OS/2 - http://www.filegate.net/aftnbinkd/binkda73.zip

    ---
    Enjoy - Dave

    --- Mystic BBS v1.12 A31 (Raspberry Pi)
    * Origin: internal dimension ≈ idbbs.dlinkddns.com ≈ port 59 (1:229/275)

    All done and working -- except for the OS/2 version which crashes in
    the text editor. I use Internet Rex for binkd transfers and
    registered SIO 1.60d 16 port.

    --- EleBBS/OS2 v20120208.d
    * Origin: Neptune's Lair/2 * Olive Branch, MS USA * os2bbs.org (1:116/18)
  • From Dave Vandermeer@1:229/275 to Robert Wolfe on Tue Aug 1 12:05:17 2017
    On 07/31/17, Robert Wolfe said the following...


    All done and working -- except for the OS/2 version which crashes in
    the text editor. I use Internet Rex for binkd transfers and
    registered SIO 1.60d 16 port.


    Crashes in the text editor???? You have something wrong then cuz I've never
    see mine crash..

    I tried SIO 1.60 but when I try starting VMODEM.EXE it just seg faulted so I had to use SIO 2K...

    Are your telnet sessions choppy with a proper registered version of SIO 1.60?

    --- Mystic BBS v1.12 A31 (Raspberry Pi)
    * Origin: internal dimension ≈ idbbs.dlinkddns.com ≈ port 59 (1:229/275)
  • From Robert Wolfe@1:116/18 to Dave Vandermeer on Tue Aug 1 17:44:00 2017
    * In a message originally to Robert Wolfe, Dave Vandermeer said:

    130/20
    426 452
    267/155
    100 102
    On 07/31/17, Robert Wolfe said the following...


    All done and working -- except for the OS/2 version which crashes in the text editor. I use Internet Rex for binkd transfers and registered SIO 1.60d 16 port.


    Crashes in the text editor???? You have something wrong then cuz I've
    never
    see mine crash..

    I tried SIO 1.60 but when I try starting VMODEM.EXE it just seg faulted so I
    had to use SIO 2K...

    Are your telnet sessions choppy with a proper registered version of SIO 1.60?

    --- Mystic BBS v1.12 A31 (Raspberry Pi)
    * Origin: internal dimension ≈ idbbs.dlinkddns.com ≈ port 59 (1:229/275)

    Not really. As far as the segfaulting goes, from what I've been told
    that is because of something to do with a newer TCPIP stack. But, I
    am running under ArcaOS 5.0.1 Professional under a VM and it seems to
    work quite well.

    As far me not having something set right, then how come I don't have
    an issue with the FSE in the same DOS version as the OS/2 version?

    --- EleBBS/OS2 v20120208.d
    * Origin: Neptune's Lair/2 * Olive Branch, MS USA * os2bbs.org (1:116/18)
  • From Nicholas Boel@1:154/10 to Robert Wolfe on Tue Aug 1 19:56:18 2017
    Hello Robert,

    On Tue Aug 01 2017 17:44:00, Robert Wolfe wrote to Dave Vandermeer:

    As far me not having something set right, then how come I don't have
    an issue with the FSE in the same DOS version as the OS/2 version?

    Did you have message bases already setup when you switched to the OS/2 version (since this is FSE related only)? If so, you may want to try either wiping all your message bases and starting fresh, or move them to another location to test
    new data files.

    Then you could also try wiping mbases.dat and creating a new one, etc. You have
    it narrowed down to one thing causing you issues, so you basically know where to start looking.

    Regards,
    Nick

    ... "Не знаю. Я здесь только работаю."
    --- GoldED+/LNX 1.1.5-b20170303
    * Origin: thePharcyde_ distribution system (Wisconsin) (1:154/10)
  • From Robert Wolfe@1:116/17 to Nicholas Boel on Tue Aug 1 20:57:14 2017


    Did you have message bases already setup when you switched to the
    OS/2 version (since this is FSE related only)? If so, you may want to
    try either wiping all your message bases and starting fresh, or move
    them to another location to test new data files.

    Yes, I already have JAM format message bases set up.

    Then you could also try wiping mbases.dat and creating a new one,
    etc. You have it narrowed down to one thing causing you issues, so
    you basically know where to start looking.

    Again, I thought of that, too, but the problem seems to be only limited
    to the OS/2 code. Unless something has changed in OS/2 5.0.1 that is
    causing that to happen in the Mystic/OS2 code.
    --- Platinum Xpress/Win/WINServer v3.0pr5
    * Origin: Neptune's Lair - Olive Branch MS - winserver.org (1:116/17)
  • From nicholaskwiatkowski@gmail.com@3:770/3 to Dave Vandermeer on Wed Aug 2 03:41:24 2017
    On Tuesday, August 1, 2017 at 1:36:06 PM UTC-4, Dave Vandermeer wrote:
    On 07/31/17, Robert Wolfe said the following...


    All done and working -- except for the OS/2 version which crashes in the text editor. I use Internet Rex for binkd transfers and
    registered SIO 1.60d 16 port.


    Crashes in the text editor???? You have something wrong then cuz I've never see mine crash..

    I tried SIO 1.60 but when I try starting VMODEM.EXE it just seg faulted so I had to use SIO 2K...

    Are your telnet sessions choppy with a proper registered version of SIO 1.60?

    SIO 1.6 is compatible with OS/2 up to Warp 4.0. SIO2k introduced compatibility
    with the TCP/IP that was introduced in 4.5+. There is no way to make SIO 1.x compatible with anything beyond 4.0.

    Unfortunately, SIO2k had a horrible buffering issue with the FOSSIL driver that
    they used. There are some settings you can set to reduce the buffer size to almost zero, in which case it looks smooth enough. Downloads tend to be flaky though since
    really long streams will tend to drop some characters.

    --- SoupGate-Win32 v1.05
    * Origin: Agency HUB, Dunedin - New Zealand | Fido<>Usenet Gateway (3:770/3)
  • From mark lewis@1:3634/12.73 to nicholaskwiatkowski@gmail.com on Wed Aug 2 09:31:16 2017

    On 2017 Aug 02 03:41:24, you wrote to Dave Vandermeer:

    SIO 1.6 is compatible with OS/2 up to Warp 4.0. SIO2k introduced compatibility with the TCP/IP that was introduced in 4.5+. There is
    no way to make SIO 1.x compatible with anything beyond 4.0.

    don't tell my eCS system that... i've looked at SIO2k but never was able to get
    it set up and running right... i've always gone back to SIO1.6 and had smooth sailing...

    )\/(ark

    Always Mount a Scratch Monkey
    Do you manage your own servers? If you are not running an IDS/IPS yer doin' it wrong...
    ... Happy Holidays and a Wonderful 1998 to you and yours!
    ---
    * Origin: (1:3634/12.73)
  • From Nicholas Boel@1:154/10 to Robert Wolfe on Wed Aug 2 15:34:40 2017
    Hello Robert,

    On Tue Aug 01 2017 20:57:14, Robert Wolfe wrote to Nicholas Boel:

    Yes, I already have JAM format message bases set up.

    The JAM message bases in 1.07.3 were not 100% compatible with JAM message bases, for one. That was fixed somewhere in 1.08-1.10 I believe. However, I mention "mbases.dat" because these are Mystic's data files, and have nothing to
    do with JAM message bases.

    Starting over with fresh Mystic data files once you convert to OS/2 may actually fix your FSE problems. Since you're already deep into this, it's probably worth a shot.

    Then you could also try wiping mbases.dat and creating a new one,
    etc. You have it narrowed down to one thing causing you issues, so
    you basically know where to start looking.

    Again, I thought of that, too, but the problem seems to be only
    limited to the OS/2 code. Unless something has changed in OS/2 5.0.1
    that is causing that to happen in the Mystic/OS2 code.

    Again? This was the first time this has come up. Did you think we discussed mbases.dat before this thread?

    While it may be the OS/2 code, it may also be the fact that you're trying to use the DOS version's data files for the OS/2 version. May not be a problem at all, but it might be as well. I was only offering ideas. If you don't care to try fixing your issue, I don't mind if you sit there with a broken 1.07.3/OS2 full screen editor forever, bub.

    Either way, that version isn't supported any more, nor will it ever be. So the best thing you're going to get is help from your peers in trying to resolve it - which is exactly what I'm trying to do.

    Regards,
    Nick

    ... "Не знаю. Я здесь только работаю."
    --- GoldED+/LNX 1.1.5-b20170303
    * Origin: thePharcyde_ distribution system (Wisconsin) (1:154/10)
  • From Robert Wolfe@1:116/17 to Nicholas Boel on Wed Aug 2 16:57:14 2017
    Yes, I already have JAM format message bases set up.

    The JAM message bases in 1.07.3 were not 100% compatible with JAM message ->bases, for one. That was fixed somewhere in 1.08-1.10 I believe. However, I ->mention "mbases.dat" because these are Mystic's data files, and have nothing ->to
    do with JAM message bases.

    Starting over with fresh Mystic data files once you convert to OS/2 may ->actually fix your FSE problems. Since you're already deep into this, it's ->probably worth a shot.

    Actually, I am not too deep into it. I still have EleBBS/OS2 running as my main system on the ArcaOS VM for now with FastEcho doing the mail processing.



    ...Canadian DOS prompt: EH?\>
    ---BapStats Module (bsDBASE v6.1 Build 1)

    * Origin: Neptune's Lair - Olive Branch MS - winserver.org (1:116/17)
  • From Nicholas Boel@1:154/10 to Robert Wolfe on Wed Aug 2 18:12:36 2017
    Hello Robert,

    On Wed Aug 02 2017 16:57:14, Robert Wolfe wrote to Nicholas Boel:

    Actually, I am not too deep into it. I still have EleBBS/OS2 running
    as my main system on the ArcaOS VM for now with FastEcho doing the
    mail processing.

    That should probably be pointed to the ELEBBS echo then. You came here with Mystic issues from a version that was dated back in the 90s asking for help.

    I gave it a valiant effort to give some.

    You then changed the subject to EleBBS.

    That's about enough of this thread for me! ;/

    Regards,
    Nick

    ... "Не знаю. Я здесь только работаю."
    --- GoldED+/LNX 1.1.5-b20170303
    * Origin: thePharcyde_ distribution system (Wisconsin) (1:154/10)
  • From Robert Wolfe@1:116/17 to Nicholas Boel on Wed Aug 2 21:30:08 2017

    I gave it a valiant effort to give some.

    I thank you for that and you are probably right. I will try what you
    said as far as a suggestion goes ab


    --- Platinum Xpress/Win/WINServer v3.0pr5
    * Origin: Neptune's Lair - Olive Branch MS - winserver.org (1:116/17)
  • From Darkwing to Dave Vandermeer on Fri Aug 4 08:49:04 2017
    Re: Re: last version of mystic for os/2
    By: Dave Vandermeer to robert wolfe on Wed Jul 26 2017 02:04 pm

    1.0.7.3 on the filegate.net web. I have this setup running on eComstation on real hardware and that's what I had to do, otherwise I was back in the stone age on 1.05 as you are

    i'm curious what hardware you are running eComstation on... i picked up a copy of arca noae and haven't been able to get it to be stable on bare metal yet. and i have tried quite a few mobo/bios/video combinations, although they are rather new. i have been able to get networking and sound to work, and dos/4os2 terminals, but several things in the OS seem to lock up, with win-os2 being one of them.

    ...darkwing!
  • From mark lewis@1:3634/12.73 to Darkwing on Fri Aug 4 12:10:52 2017

    On 2017 Aug 04 08:49:04, you wrote to Dave Vandermeer:

    things in the OS seem to lock up, with win-os2 being one of them.

    why oh why would anyone install that old thing? it is really old win3/wfwg stuff... ancient doesn't even begin to describe it... i would reinstall and don't touch anything that has anything to do with winwhatever...

    aside from that, make sure you have "SUPPRESSPOPUPS=C", "DUMPPROCESS=C" and "REIPL=ON" so any crashes will be logged to C:\POPUPLOG.OS2 (a plain ascii text
    file) and the dumps of the crashes will be logged to C:\PDUMP.* (binary dump files)... you can put the popup log and the pdump files on any drive by changing the "C" to any other drive letter but they will always be in the root of that drive... REIPL will allow OS2 to reboot the machine after a crash that warrants a reboot...

    )\/(ark

    Always Mount a Scratch Monkey
    Do you manage your own servers? If you are not running an IDS/IPS yer doin' it wrong...
    ... I'm the pet, the cats just let me live in their house ;*)
    ---
    * Origin: (1:3634/12.73)
  • From Darkwing to mark lewis on Fri Aug 4 15:35:43 2017
    Re: last version of mystic for os/2
    By: mark lewis to Darkwing on Fri Aug 04 2017 12:10 pm

    why oh why would anyone install that old thing? it is really old win3/wfwg stuff... ancient doesn't even begin to describe it... i would reinstall and don't touch anything that has anything to do with winwhatever...

    I started off by looking for a WinXP replacement to run Iniquity on, and figured it would be cool to play with old win3 software too. I've gotten the win-os2 system to run on *one* of my systems, an older amd A6 system, but that's the only one. Another issue seems to be with video in DOS sessions... I can't start a windowed DOS session without an error, but if I alt-home to full screen it and then bring it back to a window it works, but basic things like cls don't actually clear the screen. I know arca noae is doing the best they can, and hope they can continue to move towards getting this old/ancient OS to working on modern hardware. I was just doing it for fun, nothing other than that =) For now, I think I'm just going to use a WinXP vm to get my board back online, and continue to experiment with ArcaOS in a vm. Another major issue is that there is apparently no way to purchase a copy of SIO any longer... I'm not sure how much work would be involved in coding a fossil/telnet replacement.

    ...darkwing!
  • From Dave Vandermeer@1:229/275 to Darkwing on Fri Aug 4 18:25:23 2017
    On 08/04/17, Darkwing said the following...


    i'm curious what hardware you are running eComstation on... i
    picked up a copy of arca noae and haven't been able to get it to be

    It's running on an out-of-the-box Dell Inspiron 530S. The only thing I had to change was the NIC. I had to put a PCI Via Rhine III that I had laying around to get internet to work right after install.

    --- Mystic BBS v1.12 A34 (Windows/32)
    * Origin: another dimension : idbbs.dlinkddns.com : port 591 (1:229/275)
  • From Robert Wolfe@1:116/17 to Darkwing on Fri Aug 4 19:54:22 2017
    I started off by looking for a WinXP replacement to run Iniquity on, and
    figured it would be cool to play with old win3 software too. I've gotten the ->win-os2 system to run on *one* of my systems, an older amd A6 system, but ->that's the only one. Another issue seems to be with video in DOS sessions...

    I can't start a windowed DOS session without an error, but if I alt-home to ->full screen it and then bring it back to a window it works, but basic things ->like cls don't actually clear the screen. I know arca noae is doing the best ->they can, and hope they can continue to move towards getting this old/ancient ->OS to working on modern hardware. I was just doing it for fun, nothing other ->than that =) For now, I think I'm just going to use a WinXP vm to get my ->board
    back online, and continue to experiment with ArcaOS in a vm. Another major ->issue is that there is apparently no way to purchase a copy of SIO any ->longer... I'm not sure how much work would be involved in coding a ->fossil/telnet replacement.

    This is weird, because what you are having issues with with the DOS session (switching from windowed to full screen and back again) I can't duplicate even though I've tried.



    ...I think, therefore I am. I think.
    ---BapStats Module (bsDBASE v6.1 Build 1)

    * Origin: Neptune's Lair - Olive Branch MS - winserver.org (1:116/17)
  • From Darkwing to Robert Wolfe on Fri Aug 4 19:44:59 2017
    Re: RE:last version of mystic for os/2
    By: Robert Wolfe to Darkwing on Fri Aug 04 2017 07:54 pm

    This is weird, because what you are having issues with with the DOS session (switching from windowed to full screen and back again) I can't duplicate even though I've tried.

    I think a lot of the video issues come down to the VESA implementation in the BIOS. I'm really not complaining, and am very happy with ArcaOS and the work the team is doing to keep it updated. It works great in a VM, so I build an A10-7970k system and put ubuntu mate on it with virtualbox, just to run my BBS. I am probably in the wrong message base for OS/2 discussion, but was just so glad to find other people running OS/2! I couldn't afford the hardware for OS/2 back in the 90's, so I'm pretty much coming at it from scratch. I did just find an old book that covers OS/2 Rexx so looking forward to digging into that =)

    ...darkwing!
  • From Dave Vandermeer@1:229/275 to Darkwing on Fri Aug 4 22:03:04 2017
    On 08/04/17, Darkwing said the following...

    Oh, I forgot to mention this earlier, and I'm surprised nobody else has, this is a Fidonet echo, Please inform your sysop that it is supposed to be a Real Name area not an alias area (If you are not the sysop that is) :)

    --- Mystic BBS v1.12 A34 (Windows/32)
    * Origin: another dimension : idbbs.dlinkddns.com : port 591 (1:229/275)
  • From Darkwing to Dave Vandermeer on Fri Aug 4 21:10:38 2017
    Re: Re: last version of mystic for os/2
    By: Dave Vandermeer to Darkwing on Fri Aug 04 2017 10:03 pm

    Oh, I forgot to mention this earlier, and I'm surprised nobody else has, this is a Fidonet echo, Please inform your sysop that it is supposed to be a Real Name area not an alias area (If you are not the sysop that is) :)

    Sure thing, I was a little surprised too as it was always my understanding that Fidonet was always real name only. I'll pass the message on to the sysop here. This is not my BBS, although I'm looking forward to joining with my
    own BBS once I get it a little more stable (hopefully under OS/2) :D

    -Nate DeWitt / KA7THX
  • From Dave Vandermeer@1:229/275 to Darkwing on Sat Aug 5 02:48:10 2017
    On 08/04/17, Darkwing said the following...

    message on to the sysop here. This is not my BBS, although I'm looking forward to joining with my own BBS once I get it a little more stable (hopefully under OS/2) :D

    I ran my BBS under OS/2 for quite awhile back in dialup days.. but now I find trying to use it for telnet, the telnet sessions are very choppy .. now it might just be something I am not doing right but I'm sure my setup was right
    ^^

    --- Mystic BBS v1.12 A34 (Windows/32)
    * Origin: another dimension : idbbs.dlinkddns.com : port 591 (1:229/275)
  • From Nicholas Boel@1:154/10 to Dave Vandermeer on Sun Aug 6 19:34:14 2017
    Hello Dave,

    On Fri Aug 04 2017 22:03:04, Dave Vandermeer wrote to Darkwing:

    Oh, I forgot to mention this earlier, and I'm surprised nobody else
    has, this is a Fidonet echo, Please inform your sysop that it is
    supposed to be a Real Name area not an alias area (If you are not the sysop that is) :)

    I don't believe this has ever been an area that required real names. Nor does it have any specific set of rules people are required to follow, like other areas of Fidonet.

    Regards,
    Nick

    ... "Не знаю. Я здесь только работаю."
    --- GoldED+/LNX 1.1.5-b20170303
    * Origin: thePharcyde_ distribution system (Wisconsin) (1:154/10)
  • From g00r00@1:129/215 to Dave Vandermeer on Tue Aug 22 20:28:37 2017
    Oh, I forgot to mention this earlier, and I'm surprised nobody else has, this is a Fidonet echo, Please inform your sysop that it is supposed to
    be a Real Name area not an alias area (If you are not the sysop that is)

    This is not a requirement in Fido, just a preference from what I remember.

    The real name thing is enforceable by the moderator of each echo area, and in the case of the MYSTIC echo aliases I always allowed them. The successors
    have also allowed them.

    --- Mystic BBS v1.12 A35 (Windows/32)
    * Origin: Sector 7 [Mystic BBS WHQ] (1:129/215)